the daily purge 7-5-17

IMG_1889

Is it a stick or a pole? It is a pole. A stick would be crooked and brown as though fallen from a tree. The Purging Lutheran bought this pole (not a stick) from a hanging-your-clothes store. I donut remember where we had to live where we needed a pole (not a stick) to hang our (My Sweet Rib’s) extra clothes? My clothes are hung with care in a laundry basket at my bedside, one wadded on top of the other. It is very possible MSR used this to hang just-dryed laundry in a laundry room a few homes back. Our present home doesn’t require this hanging pole, so out it goes.

WARNING: Today we have a joke. It might be deemed ‘naughty’.

Q: What is brown and sticky?

A: A stick.

Now what you have been waiting for – ‘stick’ quotes!

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will make me go in a corner and cry by myself for hours. – Eric Idle

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can make me think I deserved it. – Randall Munroe

Sticks and stones may break your bones, but Chinese throwing stars get you a dozen stitches. – Jim Butcher


For as many sticks as there are in the world, ‘stick’ quotes start almost entirely with ‘sticks and stones…‘. I guess sticks don’t inspire much creative thought.

 

Proverbs 15:4

A gentle tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.

Leave a Reply

