the daily purge 6-6-17

IMG_1675

Yoiks and away! It’s another red dish. This one is a large red dish as opposed to the small red dish The Purging Lutheran purged a few days ago. If you are a red dish skeptic, you might ask yourself if this isn’t just a small red dish photographed from a different angle. If so, this raises a serious question whether your host is dissing the 9th commandment: Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour. Being a human being wracked with sin from Day One, I break all 10 commandments on a regular basis though I break some more often than others. I do my best not to lie because I believe when I lie I kill a little bit of the truth. I have not lied about this dish, so that’s a good thing. But what about lying to my puppy? Frequently, Kaden The Superpup (KSP) sits out on the front lawn and says,

“yipyipyipyipyipyipyapyipyipyipyapyapyipyipyipyipyipyipyapyapyapyapyapyipyipyapyapyapyapyipyipyipyipyipyipyipyipyap!”.

When that gets a little annoying I’ll tell him, “I’m going inside to get a cup of coffee. I’ll be right back.” I go inside, bang my head against a wall, refill my cup and go to the back porch where I can barely hear him. Now, does what I say break The 9th? It sure would seem so. But does it matter? If a car drives by or a fellow walks by with his hound, KSP redirects himself toward that leaving my memory (and my lie) in the dust. I’ll let you decide. OK, how about this? You’re walking in the woods when you come across a bear wearing a bib and holding in his paws a fork and knife. What do you tell him? “Sure, let’s do lunch.” No, that’s an outright lie as you run and scream like a college sorority girl in a horror movie. Will God hold you accountable as the bear nips at your heels? I leave you to decide.

This red dish has been sent away to the landfill. Or is it a landfilled by now?

Ephesians 4:25

Therefore, having put away falsehood, let each one of you speak the truth with his neighbor, for we are members one of another.

 

Leave a Reply

