the daily purge 4-6-17

IMG_2427

The The Purging Lutheran read recently on the innerweb that performing detailed assignments, working on picture puzzles, sudoku, or playing board games such as Clue help stimulate cranial muscles which in turn massage parts of the brain such as the partial lobes, optic fibres, and cnidaria. Medical terms are never easy or fun to describe but, in essence, what happens is through stimulation brought on by concentrating on a task, certain parts of the brain stay healthier longer thus delaying, or even denying, the onset of poor memory or disrupted motor skills. While TPL occassionally dabbles in sudoku, I rarely play games and being a big-picture kind of guy I almost never participate in detailed assignments. To keep my brain performing at tip top efficiency, I fill my weekly pill organizer.

To avoid putting all my medicines in my Tuesday AM compartment, I have to be able to categorize pills by size, color, shape, and usage. Pink and blue and long and round and pointed and scored and delayed reaction and thinning and vitamining and scrubbing and gastroing are just some of the adjectives I have to differentiate by thinking. By doing this weekly my mind stays sharp as a tack. When a fella nears 60 it’s a little bit harder to get all the inner and outer body parts working in concert. You young people out there, keep that in mind.

Psalm 92:10-14

But you’ve made me strong as a charging bison,
you’ve honored me with a festive parade.
The sight of my critics going down is still fresh,
the rout of my malicious detractors.
My ears are filled with the sounds of promise:
“Good people will prosper like palm trees,
Grow tall like Lebanon cedars;
transplanted to God’s courtyard,
They’ll grow tall in the presence of God,
lithe and green, virile still in old age.”

Leave a Reply

