the daily purge 3-21-17

IMG_2444

Stuff from around the house that you want to throw away (purge) is pretty boring. Towels, books, wires, knick-knacks, partial candles, socks, shoes, and the rest are what to expect for the foreseeable future. Purging can be worse than being an airplane pilot. With flying, most of it is also dull and uninteresting but at least can be  interspersed with screaming terror during a storm or a mechanical malfunction (thank goodness for those boredom breakers!). My Sweet Rib has yet to toss out anything exciting like a wide-screen television (which is not really a bad idea) or a kitchen cabinet. The The Purging Lutheran doesn’t suspect I’ll be writing anything about such items anytime soon.

Alrighty then. We has a card what says, “God is in the details”. I thought the phrase was “the devil is in the details”. I’m not trying to equate the devil to God or even saying which phrase is right. Can they both be? I don’t think so but that’s because I am not a relativist. I understand what the point is with the picture. The flowers are a nice break from the thorns of the cactus. God made the cactus with thorns because He didn’t give it arms and hands to handle a pistol or a switchblade knife. A cactus has to have some way to protect itself. I vote that the thorns are helping protect the flowers so a bee might come by and be part of the process of making another cactus plant. You know what I mean.

(are these purges becoming a little hotsy-totsy lately?).

I will leave it to my Persistent Readers to decide which phrase it right, and whether a cactus ought to own a hand gun. I just report what I see. You decide.

Psalm 12:5

Into the hovels of the poor,
Into the dark streets where the homeless groan, God speaks:
“I’ve had enough; I’m on my way
To heal the ache in the heart of the wretched.”

Leave a Reply

