the daily purge 3-9-17

IMG_2418

The The Purging Lutheran started listening to music when I was a wee bęrn of the age of six when The Beatles released their music. I used to listen to them with a transistor radio, probably on WIFE – home of the Good Guys. Until then, my music background were albums my father had. These included Lawrence Welk, Ray Connif, Andy Williams, Connie Francis (this had to be because of the album cover as we never, ever listened to it) and the most popular album was a Latvian album, Daugavas Vanagi (Hawks of the Daugava), Latvian military songs sung by a Latvian military choir. The only instruments I recall were a stand-up bass keeping a steady rhythm throughout each song and strong, male voices singing patriotic lyrics. My father would play this album after he and his buds had several cognacs and started playing cards. The one song that always sticks out from Janis – The Early Years was Andy Williams’s  Can’t Get Used To Losing You. It is a song like Amazing Grace, God Only Knows, and  Bridge Over Troubled Water, songs SO good they require true and honest effort to mess up.

So, what about our little stereo up there? Ever since The Beatles, I have been a music lover and always have some sort of music maker, whether a CD player, iPod, cassette player and so on. After a while they pile up in the basement and I feel forced to purge one. This is today’s.

Matthew 26:26-30

While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.”

Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. I tell you, I will not drink from this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.”

When they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

Leave a Reply

