the daily purge 2-27-17

img_2514

A food supplement is on the purging block here. Powdered protein bought back in the aught years (2000-2009) left to sit in our pantry contemplating its fate. The Purging Lutheran used this to mix with milk to help build strong muscles. But protein is so much more than a body building milkshake.

Protein is useful in increasing metabolic rates in humans. That helps your git-along-little-dogey git along (that’s a good thing).

It aids the body in responding to stimuli. It someone pokes you with a sharp stick, you’re more likely to say, “Hey! Stop it!” as opposed to lying there like a slug, mumbling,”Are you going to eat that fat?”

It helps transport molecules from one location to another. I suppose that means if your lungs are running out of molecules because you smoke too much, protein loads a pickup truck with molecules from, say, your elbow and moves them to replace the ones lost from your lungs. This isn’t without cost to your body. Your elbow is likely to develop tendonitis due to its smaller pool of molecules. Maybe you should ask your doctor for clarification. P.S. Don’t smoke.

Protein also helps with DNA replication. You’d think we already have enough DNA but I guess we don’t. What happens if you have too much of it? I don’t want to sound gross but I think that’s why we have to blow our noses.

Q: What have you learned about protein today?

A: It is good for you.

Psalm 139:13-16

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
you formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
you know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
The days of my life all prepared
before I’d even lived one day.

Leave a Reply

