the daily purge 1-17-17

img_2384

During The Purging Lutheran’s recent rehab I had one of those ‘roomba’ days. Roombas are robotic, autonomous machines that vacuum floors. They buzz in a straight line until they boink! into a chair, wall or table then go off in another direction. I wasn’t doing the ‘thorazine shuffle’ or anything (that’s not my issue), I just had a tough time deciding what to ‘housekeep’ next. Laundry or kitty litter? Dusting or folding laundry? Some choices, huh? I ultimately decided to give my house a break and watch a movie. I’d heard about a movie called Inside Out, a fun movie from what I’d been told. So I went to Goodwill to get an cheap copy of it. I found a DVD of Inside Out, then another movie called Inside Out. I didn’t know which was which so I bought them both. As I walked out the door I noticed on a display a copy of a movie called Inside Out, different from the two I just bought. Just to make sure I had the right one I went back to the movie section to make sure I wasn’t missing any others. Then back home.

So with a bowl of popcorn I put on Inside Out starring Parker Posey. The info blurb said:

A man is released from prison after serving a long time for killing a man who tried to kill his best friend. Once out, he just wants to live a normal life, but his best friend immediately gets him into a new heap of serious troubles.

I finished it thinking it wasn’t the one everyone was talking about. So I put on Inside Out, this one starring Russell Wong.

Blurb: Families in an idyllic suburban neighborhood are taunted by a mysterious doctor who moves in to town and spins a web of psychological chaos that changes their lives forever.

Psychological chaos? Ha! I’ve got them beat! After this one, Inside Out, starring Telly Savalas.

The blurb? Thirty years after WW2, a team of former GIs and German soldiers plans to retrieve Nazi loot hidden in the Soviet occupied East Germany, its exact location only known to an imprisoned Nazi war criminal.

This one seemed odd. Telly Savalas isn’t known for his comedic stylings. Oh, well. Let’s put on the next film, Inside Out, starring Elliot Gould.

Blurb? Of course. An agoraphobic must give up his sheltered life and venture outside after a series of personal and financial problems. 

The next film I put on, Inside Out, starred Kate Asner.

Wassit ’bout, Willis? A film that shows how “hard” it is to be the children of celebrities.

By now my eyes were bugged out and My Sweet Rib was due home soon. I had to look like I accomplished something around the house so I packed up the copies of Inside Out including the ones I didn’t watch. They were about an art project, two more about agoraphobia and one about fishing. I heard MSR pull into the garage. I panicked and wanting to hide proof of my wasted day I unplugged the DVD player and took it all to Goodwill.

Psalm 16  (The Message)

1 Keep me safe, O God, I’ve run for dear life to you. 2 I say to God, “Be my Lord!” Without you, nothing makes sense. 3 And these God-chosen lives all around – what splendid friends they make! 4 Don’t just go shopping for a god. Gods are not for sale. I swear I’ll never treat god-names like brand-names. 5 My choice is you, God, first and only. And now I find I’m your choice! 6 You set me up with a house and yard. And then you made me your heir! 7 The wise counsel God gives when I’m awake is confirmed by my sleeping heart. 8 Day and night I’ll stick with God; I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go. 9 I’m happy from the inside out, and from the outside in, I’m firmly formed. 10 You canceled my ticket to hell – that’s not my destination! 11 Now you’ve got my feet on the life path, all radiant from the shining of your face. Ever since you took my hand, I’m on the right way.

Leave a Reply

