the daily purge 12-22-16

IMG_2309.JPG

Shortly after Jesus knocked some sense into me (He was the fist Andrej used to blacken my eye on or about New Year’s Eve, 19-aught-96) which eventually led The Purging Lutheran, My Sweet Rib, The Lad, and Our Marta to Holy Cross Lutheran Church. It didn’t take long for us to get involved in helping out. I became a Sunday School teacher but since I’d never had any teaching experience I agreed to do it as long as I could teach the youngest kids possible. That only made sense, I could learn along the way with teeny tiny tots who wouldn’t have a lot questions to confuse me with. My opinion of teaching 3s and 4s (year olds) seemed to differ with Heidi’s opinion, who was elated to have someone willingly teach the youngest of God’s sainted critters. I have learned since then that the older the student the less interest they have in learning until you get to 6th and 7th graders when they are ‘just too cool for school’. There is nothing like a three and four year-old who demands to know what happened to their kitty who died last week. ‘Are they in Heaven?’ Usually before I get an answer in other kids have jumped with opinions, usually the same: ‘Of course he’s in Heaven! Jesus loves pets!’ Well, how do improve on an answer like that? Though it’s not in the Bible, I believe the pets we love will be in Heaven. There’s plenty of room for us all. Out of about 14 years I taught 11 or 12 years and loved it. I had a set of twins break into a fist fight, rolling and tumbling across the center of the circle. Kids needed to be helped on and off the toilet. Snack time was never unsuccessful. And stickers? Stickers are the greatest Sunday School accessory. Kids love their stickers. They are equally applied to work sheets and noses. The best part was at the end of the class and teaching The Lord’s Prayer, echo style. I say the first part, they repeat. And on until ‘forever and ever. Amen

So what’s with the necklaces up above? Those are among the baubles I gave the children at Christmas or end of the year. I found these in a box in a corner in the basement. I have other items such as books and toys for the kids down there, too. They will make their ways to Purgeville one day when I can find them and get them into the hands of people who can use them best.

Matthew 18:2-6   He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me. “If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.

Leave a Reply

