the daily purge 8-24-16

image

I am not afraid of an army of lions led by a sheep; I am afraid of an army of sheep led by a lion. – Alexander the Great

This quote makes me wonder if Al had an inkling of the future God incarnate, Jesus, as refered to as The Lion of Judah in this Bible verse:

Revelation 5:5   And one of the elders said to me, “Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.”

OK, this hand puppet isn’t Jesus but, boy, did 3 and 4 year olds love it during Sunday School. It’s one thing for an old man to yik and yak about what Jesus does for us but animate an animal and use a different voice and voila! ears are tuned in. The years have not been kind to our puppet. It’s googly eyes are a little skewed giving it a slightly insane look but that might be caused by its laying on its back. The black fur is a result of The Lad’s cat, Callie (the shedding machine) sleeping on it. And it looks like it might have a Milk Dud in its ear, too. Well, my Sunday School teaching days are over partly because I don’t bend like I used to. Laying on the floor to get face to face with chuklins is great but I didn’t want to chance My Sweet Rib pulling a muscle helping me up. I will toss this feller in the wash and send it, with a prayer, on its way to another teacher via the fine people at Goodwill Industries.

Deuteronomy 4:9-10 “But watch out! Be careful never to forget what you yourself have seen. Do not let these memories escape from your mind as long as you live! And be sure to pass them on to your children and grandchildren. Never forget the day when you stood before the Lord your God at Mount Sinai, where he told me, ‘Summon the people before me, and I will personally instruct them. Then they will learn to fear me as long as they live, and they will teach their children to fear me also.’

Leave a Reply

