the daily purge 8-18-16

image

[ this episode is rated “M” for mature audiences only ]

Dr. Peter Venkman: All right, I’m gonna turn over the next card. Concentrate… I want you to tell me what you think it is.
[Holds up the card]
Male Student: Uh, square.
Dr. Peter Venkman: Good guess, but wrong.
[Turns over the card and zaps the male student]
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the female student] Okay,
[Holds up another card]
Dr. Peter Venkman: what is this?
Female Student: Is it a star?
Dr. Peter Venkman: It “is” a star,. very good.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the male student, and holding up another card] Concentrate. Tell me what this is.
Male Student: Circle.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [Turns over the card] Ooohhh, Close. But most definately wrong.
[Zaps the male student again]
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the female student] Clear your head.
[Holds up another card]
Dr. Peter Venkman: All right, I’m gonna turn over the next card. Concentrate… I want you to tell me what you think it is.
[Holds up the card]
Male Student: Uh, square.
Dr. Peter Venkman: Good guess, but wrong.
[Turns over the card and zaps the male student]
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the female student] Okay,
[Holds up another card]
Dr. Peter Venkman: what is this?
Female Student: Is it a star?
Dr. Peter Venkman: It “is” a star,. very good.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the male student, and holding up another card] Concentrate. Tell me what this is.
Male Student: Circle.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [Turns over the card] Ooohhh, Close. But most definately wrong.
[Zaps the male student again]
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the female student] Clear your head.
[Holds up another card]
Dr. Peter Venkman: what is it?
Female Student: A figure 8.
Dr. Peter Venkman: That’s 5 for 5, you can’t see these can you?
Female Student: No.
Dr. Peter Venkman: You’re not cheating me, are you?
Female Student: No. I swear, they’re just coming to me.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [to the male student] Nervous?
Male Student: [Really is nervous] Yes, I don’t like this.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [Holds up another card] We’ve only got 75 more to go, c’mon what this one.
Male Student: It’s, a couple of wavy lines.
Dr. Peter Venkman: [Puts card down] Sorry, this isn’t your lucky day.
Male Student: Yeah, I…
[Peter’s hand slowly reaches for the zapping trigger]
Male Student: I uh, uh, I uh, I uh.
[Zap]
Male Student: [Annoyed] I’m getting a little tired of this.
Dr. Peter Venkman: You volunteered, didn’t you? We’re paying you, are we?
Male Student: Yeah, but I didn’t know you we’re gonna be giving me electric shocks. What are trying to prove here, anyway.
Dr. Peter Venkman: I’m studying the effect on negative reinforcement on ESP ability.
Male Student: [Aggravated] Effect? I’ll tell you the effect is, it’s %#*¥%#% me off!

The The Purging Lutheran was roundly criticized for yesterday’s purge being too preachy. Upper management has heard the voice of the people and crumbled to the whims of its advertisers. Today’s included a bit of potty mouth but you were forewarned. Thursday’s purge is a game we found on a shelf behind the doors of a blue cabinette. First glance at the box suggests it’s a set of tiles with various designs, some sqiggles, pyramids, dots, and some circles, etc. Did the ancient Chinese, makers of other tile games, know Male Student in today’s Ghostbusters scene would be victimized by tiles/cards used for studies in extra-sensory perception? Perhaps. I don’t much remember ever playing this game but it looks like the box has been opened and closed again. I don’t know if it is Biblical, but most parents are gifted with ESP the day #1 bambino shows up until the moment #last child gets a job and moves out of the house. You either have known this, do know this, or will know this.

Psalm 127:3-5   Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

Leave a Reply

