the daily purge 7-19-16

image

This is a book bag I bought for My Marta a long time ago. I have followed the musical stylings of The Beatles since I was a tadpole. I admit for the first time that when I first became aware of them in 1964 (when I was six) I was confused as to how they could be on two radio stations at the same time. I knew records existed but only in terms of one Latvian war song album and the one Lawrence Welk record I thought ever existed, Scarlett O’Hara, which included the hothothot! songs Can’t Get Used To Loving You, Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer, and the song which always gave me fits, Tie Me Kangaroo Down, Sport.

(The song is about a dying Australian giving his friend advice on caring for his various pets that include his wallabies, a platypus, and his kangaroo, among others. Why tie the kangaroo down? To keep it out of traffic? Are there dangerous dingos nearby? Will there be someone available to feed it? You can imagine my confusion at that age.)

And if those were the only records that existed, how then did The Beatles get from one radio station to the next to play their music? And at the same time? I didn’t put 2 and 2 together until my older sisters started buying 45s. I thought, “Ah, yes! Now I understand. It’s so simple now. Any fool can see it.” And I did. My life was changed from then on.

My Marta used this bag until it became torn and frayed. She left it behind when she struck out on her own, moving to Chicago to become a big girl. Yay!

2 Timothy 3:14-15   But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

