the daily purge 7-12-16

image

Yesterday The Purging Lutheran introduced The Gatwick Housing Reclamation Project of 2016. Step One: painting. This paint roller is the first casualty of my Five Year Plan. Smart guy me bought and used a handle extension (pole) so I could stand further back from the wall and admire my effort from afar. I also learned a little bit about physics. I found that if you push hard enough on something/anything, the weak point will be exposed. The weak point on this paint roller is the tip of the handle. What looks to be a small, black mitten holding the metal handle is part of a larger plastic piece into which the extension screws.

Every person has/will have a breaking point where a decision must be made to surrender to God or to the evil one. Let us quote a Bob Dylan song, Gotta Serve Somebody.

You may be a construction worker working on a home
You may be living in a mansion or you might live in a dome
You might own guns and you might even own tanks
You might be somebody’s landlord, you might even own banks

You may be a preacher with your spiritual pride
You may be a city councilman taking bribes on the side
You may be workin’ in a barbershop, you may know how to cut hair
You may be somebody’s mistress, may be somebody’s heir

But you’re gonna have to serve somebody, yes
You’re gonna have to serve somebody
Well, it may be the devil or it may be the Lord
But you’re gonna have to serve somebody

My breaking point? In January, 1997, I was living in Room 112 at the local Hampton Inn with my cigarettes and a black eye wondering when I might return home. That was when I came to the conclusion that my way of doing things was less than successful. So with me on my knees I asked for another chance at life. I received a Positive response.

Jeremiah 17:7-8    “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit” 

Leave a Reply

