the daily purge 7-4-16

image

Back in the days of The Purging Lutheran’s ‘blood aclohol content’ lifestyle I was a sub-par father to say the least. When weekends came, it was popcorn or pizza dinner for The Lad and Our Marta. It was pizza if the kids, we and our boozed-up neighbors were eating together, popcorn when the children were plunked in front of the video machine so the gr’ups didn’t have to be interrupted.

Me ===> 1 Timothy 5:8    But if anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for members of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.

Ouch.

20 years later, I’m dry as a bone, but the the kids’ diets haven’t really changed. Well, they did but their default meals find Our Marta as a pizzaterian and The Lad loads up on popcorn when he has no Page 89 (spaghetti casserole) available.

I cannot remember where this square popcorn bowl came from. Maybe My Sweet Rib won it in a lottery. Maybe a neighbor left it here and demanded it not be returned. Or like so many items without a known history, they just wandered by the house and decided ours’ was the place to find sanctuary. How do they get in the house? I’m not sure but I blame the cats. Always the cats. I do like the picture of the exploding popcorn on the bucket. I’d like to think that all the action isn’t on the screen. How could you argue about Han Solo and Princess Leia smooching but end up with a popped corn in your nose? You couldn’t. You just couldn’t.

Isaiah 45:7   I form light and create darkness, I make well-being and create calamity, I am the Lord, who does all these things

Leave a Reply

