the view from the pew 7-2-16

I learned there is word called “dandled”, from Isaiah 66:12:

For this is what the Lord says:

“I will extend peace to her like a river,
and the wealth of nations like a flooding stream;
you will nurse and be carried on her arm
and dandled on her knees.

Dandled – past tense of dandle: to move (a baby) up and down in your arms or on your knee as a way of playing
So there was that.

We sang one ‘small church’ hymn, I Love To Tell The Story. That’s an old-time hymn you’d hear in a church whose congregation adapts to modern church trends in geologic time. People in these small churches are aware of social factions but rather than count individuals in terms of gays, trans, blacks, whites, men, women, right wing, left wing, and other groups, they identify people as humans, broken and in need of Love. Everyone gets rhubarb pie and sweet tea.

Pastor’s sermon focused on John 8:1-11, about the woman caught in adultery brought before Jesus. Does Jesus side with pharisees, agreeing to stone her but losing his followers or does he side with Rome, who don’t care about Jewish law as long as there is no rebellion in the land, by letting the woman go free without consequence? The woman committed a sin of the flesh (that’s bad) by giving her wedded body to another man but the pharisees have committed sins of the spirit (that’s bad, too) by wishing ill upon the woman who hasn’t kept up to their standards.
Have I committed sins of the flesh? Do I abuse my body with drugs, alcohol, food, tobacco, or saucy temptations? If I do, then the best course is for me to quit or find a way to quit with the help of my friends or professionals. Have I committed sins of the spirit? Do I grumble at my neighbor because he is richer, poorer, handsomer, taller, smarter, dumber than me? If I do, then the best course is for me to quit or find a way to quit with the help of my friends or professionals. It’s easy to say ‘quit’ or ‘find help’ but there is no shortage of churches or organizations that can help me.

So what happened to the woman caught in sin? Let’s find out.

John 8:7-11
When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” Again he stooped down and wrote on the ground.

At this, those who heard began to go away one at a time, the older ones first, until only Jesus was left, with the woman still standing there. Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

“No one, sir,” she said.

“Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.”

That’s how Jesus sees your situation.

Stop that thing.
Drop that rock.

You’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

