the daily purge 5-25-16

image

I remember when we bought these. The Purging Lutheran, My Sweet Rib, The Lad and Our Marta were coming home from visiting G-family in Michigan. There was an outlet mall north of the Lutheran holy city, Fort Wayne, Indiana. This was in our early days when decorating our home seemed to be the thing young couples did. They still do, spending bazoolians of dollars bill on pictures and pitchers, vases and wooden crates, glass pebbles and country-themed drapes, and kooky-krazy-nutty statuettes that fit in a hallway, bathroom or above the fireplace. I liked, and still do, colorful flowers but now I want mine growing out of a dirted pot not a glass beaded tin can. I remember there weren’t many of these flowers for sale however they were pretty but most of them were not bloomed. So I bought them anyway. They never decorated the home well, just were sort of blah looking. But this was back in the days (~25 years ago) when T P Lutheran was keeping the liquor industry solvent and I made oodles of noodles of stinky decisions. I should have asked myself this question about buying unopened flowers as décor:

Would I cheer a liquor store that wasn’t opened?

The answer would have been a resounding, “NO!“. Looking back, it is amazing how many times I should have stopped, taken a deep breath then asked myself, “Why am I about to do something really dumb?“. I think there is something about human/sinful nature that at times we just are not capable of saying ‘no’ to. I buy a box of Pringles knowing it will set me back 1,000 calories. Or I stay up late watching a film I’ve watched a dozen times but have to get up early to have to be somewhere but, big duh, I stay up just the same. King David caught a glimpse of Bathsheba bathing and that began a string of bad decisions on his part. Ananias and Sapphira probably made decisions to cheat other people long before they cheated The Lord, and they ended up crumpled on the ground, dead. If you resemble these situations, please do not feel judged. Peter, the first pope, said and did all sorts of things Jesus rebuked him for, and even after Jesus ascended to sit at the right hand of God the Father almighty, he continued to boob it up. It took many people who loved him to get him steered in the right direction, able to discern good from poor choices. And he turned out just fine. So will you.

Luke 12:27-28   “Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; but I tell you, not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these. “But if God so clothes the grass in the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, how much more will He clothe you?… “

 

Leave a Reply

