the daily purge 5-3-16

image

It must be ‘Our Marta’ week on TPL. These are 15 lb. weights that were fit for a weight machine we owned. It was actually used on a regular basis until, and I still have a difficult time believing it, Our Marta broke the machine. She was maybe 13 or 14 and she was using it when ***SPROING!!*** a wire broke and the entire apparatus went caddywampus on her. A decade later and I’ve still not thrown the weights out though the rest of the machine was disassembled and tossed out. I otter do something about that. I’ll copy Andy Dufresne from The Shawshank Redemption and carry out one weight at a time over a period of 20 years until the mission is complete. By then I probably will be part human, rest machine with glowing eyes, knees and elbows that whirrrr and click! and a radar screen on my forehead detecting young toughs looking for trouble.

Pink Ladies? T-Birds? Lookin’ for high medical bills without a co-pay? Bring it on, ya punks!“, sez J-VTO, human/ cyborg b@d@ss.

Speaking of weights, I remember when My Marta (same as Our Marta) and I were driving somewhere and The Band’s song, The Weight came on the radio. She asked me what the song was about. She was interested in ‘Fanny’, the one the narrator asks to help him with his load (she doesn’t). I told her I wasn’t really sure. I probably told her that rock and roll lyrics can sometimes be difficult to decipher since the writer is the one who is intimate with the background and not the listener. Paul McCartney is notorious for singing lyrics that he thinks sound good rather than make literal sense. It can be the same issue with interpreting the books of the Bible. Is The Apocalypse of John meant to be taken literally? Some say yes, some say no. Do you believe in bugs with human faces or are they a metaphor for something else? Is The Gospel According to St. Matthew meant to be read at face value? Or Genesis? And people wonder why there’s so much a-hootin’ and a-hollerin’ between denominations.

2 Peter 1:20  Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation of things.

 

Leave a Reply

