the daily purge 4-20-16

IMG_7975

What we have here is a martini glass meant to be half-cat and half-vermouth (no olive). The Purging Lutheran and My Sweet Rib most certainly found and bought this from one of the quadrillion Ye Feminine Art Shoppes in the free-love area of town where the haircuts are awkward and tat parlors are backed out the door. The two of us have moved past trying to decorate the house with any particular theme. I have a wall filled with crosses collected from there, there, there or as gifts; some fanciful and colorful oil paintings on one wall in a room where an abandoned piano sits, and some bits and pieces on a wall or a shelf of a bathroom wall. We don’t have endless photos of the family lining the stairway or hallways. We only have one group photo of The Purging Lutheran, My Sweet Rib, The Lad, and My/Our Marta. It’s kept on the wall above the table where we keep bird seed and dry cat food. You need to ask My Sweet Rib about that. Why so few photos? Partly because we’re lazy, partly because a photo freezes time and clutches the past but we keep sputtering through life collecting mental scars and wrinkles. Memories of them stay with me, going through changes depending on my attitude at that moment, sometimes forcing pleasant and unwelcome recollections to stand side by side. For good or bad, they are what keep me connected to them. Let me allow John Mellencamp to explain:

My family and friends are the best thing I’ve known
Through the eye of the needle I’ll carry them home

There is nothing more to add.

Haggai 2:3  ‘Who is left among you who saw this temple in its former glory? And how do you see it now? Does it not seem to you like nothing in comparison?

 

Leave a Reply

