the daily purge 4-18-16

IMG_7320

These are just what you need for a fun game of 52 Pick Up. And, yes, The Purging Lutheran has played it (file under: Mr. Duh Comes To Town). It’s been a while since these were purged. I guess that these weren’t complete decks so they were sent to landfill where trash pandas (raccoons) could use them to play Euchre.

Speaking of cards, in 1996 when I was having real fun staring slack-jawed at dames in bathing suits, keeping the Miller Brewing Company solvent and tarring up my lungs, our neighborhood would have a what was called a Pig Party during Memorial Day weekend. One of the neighbors would grill a pig, everyone else would bring their own comfort and soon all bets were off. One of the homes nearby had set up shop for a tarot card reader, $20 per session. Sure, I had at least that much in my wallet to go have a good time and make fun of the ooooooo-scary spirit world, ooooooo! I went in and paid the woman, was told to shuffle the cards so I shuffled and shuffled and shuffled even more knowing I was going to confuse the other-lifes and anything she said was going to be wrong about me. Frankly, the only item I remember sticking with me was that my mother was going to have serious heart issues in August, 1997 (the reading being May, 1996). It turns out my mother died during a pacemaker implant in late July, 1997. I guess she was wrong.

Look, just stay away from that stuff, psychic foretellings, ouija boards, tarot cards, seances and the like. We aren’t built to fight alone against the monster. Stick with Jesus and you’ll be safe.

1 Samuel 28:8 – So Saul disguised himself, putting on other clothes, and at night he and two men went to the woman. “Consult a spirit for me,” he said, “and bring up for me the one I name.”

Leave a Reply

